Current Members

Chair: Matt Evans

“I am a Humanists UK school speaker. This is a voluntary role in which I visit schools to explain how humanists think about big questions such as what is true, what is good, and how to be happy. I began this job in September 2020 and have since visited schools throughout Bristol.

“I am a big believer in freedom of religion, and the right to be non-religious. Related to this is the idea that religion and worldviews education should be objective, critical, pluralistic and methodologically agnostic.

“I joined Bristol SACRE in March 2020 as the humanist representative, succeeding Mike Gower. Initially I was a co-opted member but soon became a full member. In June 2023 I became chair, succeeding Tamar Hodos.

“Professionally I am a retired equity analyst. Most of my adult life has been spent in Asia, most recently working for a company called CLSA in Seoul, Korea. My role there was to analyse and forecast the earnings of technology companies such as Samsung Electronics. I hope my experience of working and living with people of various backgrounds will help me in my SACRE role. Occasionally, my excel skills might also come in handy.

“I am the father of twin boys who as of February 2024 are aged ten. I do my best to encourage freethinking and not take Dad’s word for it.”

Vice-chair: Duncan Struthers

“I am a retired teacher, and active husband and father. I am currently vice chair of Bristol SACRE, on which I also represent the Anglican church.

“Prior to moving to Bristol, I served on both the Hillingdon Inter Faith Network and the Hillingdon SACRE as chair. I was fortunate to work with teams of faith leaders and teachers at Hillingdon, leading the termly meeting of over 50 students from the 20 high schools coming together to explore faith issues. In addition, for many years, I served on the National RE Council representing the Baptist Association.”  

RE Adviser: Laura Harris

Click here for more information on Laura’s role and how she can support your school deliver aspects of RE and Collective Worship.

Group A

  • Nassir Mohammad
  • Rachel Noyce
  • Clive Lawton
  • Matt Evans
  • Balbir Nirwan
  • Aditya Raghunath
  • Shweta Iyengar
  • Jenni Harris

Group B

  • Duncan Struthers
  • Fiona Dorman

Group C

  • Alice Sarbicki
  • Simon Parmiter
  • Pollyanna Pearman

Group D

  • Christine Townsend
  • Sharon Scott
  • Amal Ali

Co-opted members

  • Teresa (E.L.) Griffiths
  • Ruth Pickersgill

Support officers

  • Jenny Brookes (LA link officer)
  • Laura Harris (SACRE adviser)